RSS

Lock a Workstation…

12 Oct

 

K… this is goin out to all those (both of you) who asked, "Hey, how the heck can I lock my workstation at work from my smartphone like you do??"

In the words of Mr. Wizard, "Well Timmy – you can’t!".

Well not exactly.  Most people assume I’m running one of my goofy sys-admin scripts to lock all workstations at the same time from my cell phone when I forget and walk off without doing that. (Me forget?  NEVER!!!)  I do – and I could use a couple techniques for this but I actually use a script, and it has to be run on the machine itself.  "But golly jee-whiz Mr. Wizard… isn;t there a remote script to trigger all of them out on Technet??"  said Timmy…

"Why yes Timmy… there is.  But I don’t use it."  I use ONE script – and don’t use WMI to connect remotely to other machines because although you can do it safely, anyone who is running a script for it – might be tempted when the script doesn’t work for security reasons – to loosen up security.  So I’ll show you how I trigger the script on all the machines I need to at the end of this…"  🙂

The guys on Scripting Guys use two scripts instead of one because you can’t directly access the lockworkstation method of Win32 in VB or WSF or Javascript… or anything other than writing an actual program for it.   smile_baringteeth  Only way to do it with a script … is to call it (as detailed in this brilliant "Hey Scripting Guy!" article available off MS Technet.).  I’ll include that later on – but for our needs we just need the script in Figure 1 below because it’s really the meat and potatoes of this. 

The key – is to call the User32.dll of Windows – using a shell command and RunDLL32.exe.   Here’s the code that makes it work…

Figure 1: Lock_WorkStation.vbs

On
Error Resume Next
Set objShell = CreateObject("Wscript.Shell")
objShell.Run "%windir%System32rundll32.exe user32.dll,LockWorkStation"
Set objShell = Nothing

Basically, all I’m doing is running the script above.  Now – how I do it from a cellphone is pretty simple.  Since I’m always running Outlook – I’ve merely created a rule that runs when a special message is sent FROM ME – with a special code in it.

When the workstations recieve that – it runs the script shown above.  I mentioned the article with from technet that has the example below as a method of executing that script remotely.  Now mind you it’s good – I personally would slap an impersonationLevel=impersonate in there – but I’m a picky bugger.  It’s also where many of your headaches with running this script will come from.  Here’s a few examples of headaches you’ll get with this script… it won’t run because of permissions issues.  It may not run if the sys-admin has reduced your privleges via a GPO, it may not run if there’s a network glitch or across domains… basically there’s several things that will cause this to cough up blood.  It’s one of the many reasons I dislike the use of vbscript to automate things on a remote system.  But the key reason is it’s something that should not be done by someone without a solid understand of security in an enterprise environment.  It’s too easy to cause the permissions to become lax by a sysadmin because they want a cool script to run.

Then, when they get attacked via a script they blame it on the scripting security features of the script language being so lax.  When in fact, it’s the scripting security features they ignored – to get something else to run.  Yes – we CAN make this script below run.  But if we don’t have to – why should we??

Figure 2: Scripting Guys Article Script...
 Const OverwriteExisting = TRUE
 Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
objFSO.CopyFile "C:Scriptslock_workstation.vbs""\myWorkStationC$Scripts", OverWriteExisting
 
 strComputer = "myWorkStation"
Set objWMIService = GetObject ("winmgmts:\" & strComputer & "rootcimv2:Win32_Process")
 
Error = objWMIService.Create("cscript c:scriptslock_workstation.vbs", null, null, intProcessID)

From a practical view point using VBScript to execute on a remote machine is first of all – stupid.  That’s just me – but it’s dumb.  To do it properly should only be done by people who really understand the ins-and-outs of security on Windows systems. Anyone who’s going to be using a script to do this is asking for a security hole to come up and bite them on the behind.  Here’s the bottom line from my tighter than a ducks butt security perspective … the script listed above?  It’s harmless.  You have good control over it and you’re in 95% of the time going to be fine with it.

Heck – add in a check using impersontationLevel=impersonate! and yer probably golden.  BUT … it’s a potential hole because if that script can be executed remotely – others can as well.  It’s a personal thing of mine – but I want control of what scripts are run remotely even if they require my Admin level to execute them.  Just because you’re a Policeman – does not mean it’s safe to leave your handguns around the house where kids can play with them y’know?

So… here’s how I control it – I have the Lock_WorkStation.vbs script shown in Figure 1 above, and that’s all I need.  I activate it using a rule from Microsoft Outlook.  Here’s my rules: 1) Message MUST come from Me.  2) Message MUST Contain an Alpha-Numeric code.

I send myself an email – it reads it and runs the script. Now that’s a pretty simple way of handling it. The caveat to this is of course… I need to have Outlook running.  Now – how do I get around that without compromising security?  For that … I’ll need some code and a real application.

I’ll show you how to do that next 😉

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2006 in Code For Fun

 

2 responses to “Lock a Workstation…

  1. Duwain

    October 16, 2006 at 1:50 pm

    its quite strange finding useful information on a november blog… kinda strange. It’ll take some time to get used to…..

     
  2. Robert

    November 8, 2006 at 12:10 am

    HA!  Just wait … I’ve got plans… big plans… just… as soon as I can remember the link to my officelive.com sharepoint site where I hid my plans to rule the world!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
